Advantage Preservation is pleased to announce the addition of the Ida Grove Public Library as a new account. The Ida Grove Public Library was established in 1908 and has grown to become and important part of the community, providing a variety of different resources including books, newspapers, magazines and more.

With the help of Advantage Preservation, many of these resources will now be available online and made available to all patrons and residents of Ida Grove, Ida County, and surrounding areas through generous financial support from the Ida County Community Betterment Foundation and the State Historical Society of Iowa.

“The digital archives of the Ida Grove Library will be a fantastic resource for library staff, patrons and visitors” Said Library Director Angela Scales. “Having a searchable online database of newspapers allows us to quickly find information that would have normally taken hours of searching microfilm rolls, we can now do this in a matter of minutes.”

This Newspaper Digitization Project includes titles ranging from 1880 to current which have been preserved on microfilm and made available online at

The online archives provides easy access to the digitized records, allowing you browse by year or by title. The Ida Grove collection includes the Ida County Pioneer record, Ida County Pioneer, Ida County Courier, Maple Valley Era, Ida Grove Era and Maple Weekly Republican Valley Era.

We are proud to continue our relationship with the community of Ida Grove, not only providing our services to the Ida Grove Public Library but also the Ida County Engineer’s office, scanning engineering drawings.

To read more on the Advantage Community History Archive or the Ida Grove Public Library please click HERE.

“It’s so easy to use and searching the database brings back results that are relevant to my search, even things I didn’t think to look for.” –Anonymous genealogy researcher on 9/25/17.

“My children are getting a kick out of going back in the newspapers and finding and sharing articles about each other” –Library Board President